Beginnings

The name of this blog, Ta Aphrodisia literally means “things of Aphrodite”, i.e., sexual things. Of course, sexuality is a broad topic, and Aphrodite has power outside of the bedroom. Accordingly, posts will likely focus on my journey as I learn pick-up and seduction, but I also plan to write some erotica and also talk getting back into shape and other image-related topics.

A little about me: I’m in my mid-thirties and about to be divorced (I should be going to Court to present the Decree within a day or two of this post). I live with a crazy mutt who’s truly been my best friend since he wandered into my life five years ago. I’m a former Marine, and was heavily involved in the martial arts when I was younger. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Classical Studies, and am a Hellenic Reconstructionist by religion, which means I worship the Greek gods and heroes and daemons according to the traditional forms. I also consider myself a Daoist in a philosophical sense.

Arkhilokhus was a lyric poet of seventh century BCE. He seems to have been a mercenary as well as a poet, and he describes himself in this way (Greek and translation courtesey of Wikipedia):

Εἰμὶ δ’ ἐγὼ θεράπων μὲν Ἐνυαλίοιο ἄνακτος,
καὶ Μουσέων ἐρατὸν δῶρον ἐπιστάμενος.

Although I am a servant of Lord Enyalios [Ares, god of war],
I also know well the lovely gift of the Muses.

It is this combination of the martial and romantic, of strategy and seduction, of Ares and Aphrodite, that I seek to express in my life.

~ by arkhilokhus on March 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
